Press 'Tab' to the content


History of Department

Year Milestone
May 1973 Department of Industrial Engineering was established
September  1973 The first university department intake students in B.Sc.(Eng.) in Industrial Engineering (IE)
1976 MSc (Eng) in Industrial Engineering (IE) launched
1982 Department moved from Yam Pak Building to Haking Wong Building
1989 September

The Department was officially renamed as Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering (IMSE)

BSc(Eng) programme in IE was subsequently changed to BEng in Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering (IMSE)

1994 The Institution of Electrical Engineer (IEE) granted full accreditation to our programs

BEng (IMSE) was renamed as BEng in Industrial Management and Manufacturing Systems Engineering (IMMSE) ;

MSc(Eng) in Industrial Engineering was renamed to Industrial Engineering and Industrial Management (IEIM)

1999 Our engineering programs accredited and recognized by the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers (HKIE), which meet the academic requirements for corporate membership at the Washington Accord Level

BEng (IMMSE) was renamed as BEng in Industrial Engineering and Technology Management (IETM);

BEng in Logistics Engineering and Supply Chain Management (LESCM) was also introduced and accredited by The Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport in Hong Kong (CILTHK)

2005 MSc (Eng) (IEIM) was renamed to MSc(Eng) in Industrial Engineering and Logistics Management (IELM)
2006 Admission of full-time students in Taught Postgraduate programme

Former and Current Heads of Department

Heads of Department From To
Professor W.A. Reynolds

01 May 1973

30 June 1981
Professor N.N.S. Chen 01 July 1981 19 February 1994
Professor K.L. Mak 20 February 1994 19 February 2003
Dr. P.L.Y. Chan 20 February 2003 19 February 2009
Professor K.L. Mak 20 February 2009 30 June 2010
Dr. H.Y.K. Lau 01 July 2010 30 June 2013
Professor G.Q. Huang 01 July 2013 Present